Storm Front by Jim Butcher

01Nov06

Synopsis:
First in a crime-solving series starring Harry Dresden, a wizard living in Chicago. He finds lost objects, investigates paranormal activities, and advises the police whenever a crime scene looks like magic was involved.

Review:
A plethora of genres, mashing up the mafia, sorcery, and forensics in an actiony mystery thriller. The tone is hard-boiled, with a dash of wit and humor through Harry’s first-person narration. He’s a wizard, but he’s cool, not twee. I really enjoy genre-blending, and found this to be a success on that front. Butcher gets the mixture just right, and it’s no surprise that the series has been turned into a TV show on the Sci-Fi Channel. Butcher also excels in plot construction, and in knowing when to keep the prose out of the way of the action. It’s a very visually told story, and it definitely came to life in my head.

For me, I don’t think I’m likely to keep reading in the series, at least not now–I’m not going to glut myself on Harry Dresden the way I did on Robin Hobb’s Six Duchies. It’s just not my personal taste, despite the high quality of the writing.

Storm Front (The Dresden Files, Book 1)

No Responses Yet to “Storm Front by Jim Butcher”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

